Info Gluttony

Christmas in Heaven

Posted in family, personal by echan on December 25, 2008

This is my first Christmas without my Pau Pau, and it would be an understatement to say that it’s not quite the same.

My Pau Pau was a gambler, and last year, I purchased lottery tickets to help her scratch off at her skilled nursing facility.  Even though I saw her at Christmas, and several times afterwards, I kept on forgetting to bring the tickets with me to visit her.  When she passed, I still had them, so we buried her with them. That was my last Christmas present to her.

Five days ago, on the 36th anniversary of my grandfather’s passing, my sisters, mother, and I went to visit my grandparents in Colma.  As usual, we talked to the graves, but my sister M and I told our mom that we did this out of habit, and didn’t believe that there was anyone under there to hear us.

So, despite this “there is no afterlife” belief, I believe that memories form the idea of “Christmas in Heaven,” as best explained by St. James Brown.

Addendum: Godfather of Soul Holiday Bonus.

Yet another addendum: Eartha is spending Christmas in Heaven too.  God, rest her soul.