Info Gluttony

Conflict iPhones

Posted in Uncategorized by echan on April 2, 2009

I’ve blogged about my feelings towards conflict diamonds in the past (example 1 and example 2)*, but it seems as though the ethics of consumerism may be further complicated by the link between the violence in the Congo and the minerals that make my Blackberry and iPhone buzz.  Perhaps the smaller price tag and utility of my iPhone make this less sinister than the crass materialism of finger gems?

*I’m going to take this opportunity to re-link to this wonderful Atlantic piece attacking the cult of the diamond.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robin said, on April 2, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    “Finger gems.” I like that. I’m going to use it from now. “Oh why yes, that’s a lovely finger-gem.”

  2. dustin said, on April 3, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Despite this, most every girl wants a finger gem.


Leave a comment