Info Gluttony

Best Shows of 2013

Posted in Uncategorized by echan on January 2, 2014

It’s that time of the year again, where I look back and reflect on concerts that I went to over the past year. In 2013, I saw at least 27 bands* perform full sets over the course of 17 shows and 3 music festivals. Since I spent 3 days at my first and last trip to Coachella, I’m going to say that my show attendance was the same, if not more, than 2012.

The year was notable because there were a lot of bands that I saw perform twice in 2013 (Yo La Tengo, Alt-J, Peter Hook, and the Savages). I also got in a fair number of nostalgia acts (Blur, the Postal Service, Peter Hook x 2, Johnny Marr, the Stone Roses, New Order [without Peter Hook], OMD, and Stone Temple Pilots [without Scott Weiland]).

The list format doesn’t work really work any more, so here are my notable shows of 2013:

  • The Savages at the Independent – We were supposed to see the Savages full set at Station to Station the night before, but we were running late. We did arrive at S2S in time to catch the last 2 songs and were completely blown away. Before arriving at S2S, we were ambivalent about going to the Independent show the next day, but as soon as we heard them, we decided that we had to go. This show experience was unique in that the band requested absolutely no photography of any kind and for most of the show, the audience complied (no smartphone screens to mar the experience). Their album also ranks in my top 5 of the year.
  • Alt-J at Coachella – This band has the bro-iest following ever, but they must be experienced live. Their recorded music doesn’t do their live music justice. This is one of the few Coachella bands that I made a point to see again when they came through the Bay Area.
  • The Flaming Lips Halloween Bloodbath at Bill Graham – Wayne Coyne + Carrie + Miley Cyrus + so many beautiful balloons (video link).
  • Tame Impala opening for the Flaming Lips on Halloween (and at Coachella) – they were the perfect opener for the Lips and their album from 2012 wins for gradually growing on me over 2013.
  • Junip at Bimbo’s – in spite of the drunk concert bros shouting “We love you Jose,” this was my idea of a sonically perfect show, the sound was perfect, the performance was perfect. Even though J did not know who we were going to see, he walked away saying this was probably going to be the best show we saw all year (and I think this was back in June).

Hopefully, I’ll be able to do another write-up next year, but for me, 2014 is the “year of no,” in terms of going out less, so I think my show frequency will fall significantly. Let us hope that the dozen or show shows that I select in 2014 will make for another amazing music year.

*By way of checking my Instagram and Google calender, these were the acts: Arcade Fire, Lorde, Alt-J, Phoenix, Flaming Lips, Tame Impala, Billy Bragg, Savages, Peter Hook, Junip, Stone Temple Pilots (this was not by choice; it was a festival surprise act), Of Monsters and Men, Yo La Tengo, Tamaryn, OMD, Grimes, Bat for Lashes, Janelle Monae, the Postal Service, Johnny Marr, Blur, Stone Roses, Thao Nguyen, Glass Candy, Twin Shadow, Efterklang, and Starfucker.

Leave a Reply

