Info Gluttony

Rah Rah Warren!

Posted in politics by echan on September 22, 2011

One of my law school section-mates succinctly summed up my feelings about Elizabeth Warren in a Facebook status update:

I love this woman. I know her from law school and I love her. The end.

But one reason why her little video resonates with me so much is that it succinctly explains what I wish I could tell every relative who thinks that the government takes their money without giving them anything back.

A month or so ago, I was engaged in a conversation with an aunt whom I admire, but who is an exec at one of those giant infrastructure and defense companies. She complained about the millions of dollars the government was “throwing away” to protect desert tortoises near a solar project her company was building. She said, “The government has never spent any money on me.”

My jaw dropped. I pointed out that she went to public school and to the UCs. Her kids went to public schools and the UCs. She’s used public transit and the roads. But she was stubborn; she felt that she contributed to her kids schools via the PTA, not through her taxes. And she was angry that she was still paying for other people’s kids to go to school for free.  My inability to reason with her, despite my best efforts makes me want to flyer her car (and the cars of my other similarly minded relatives) with the image below.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don in Massachusetts said, on September 22, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    She spells out everything in layman’s terms, easy to understand. Simple math too!


Leave a Reply

