Info Gluttony

It’s Nice / It’s Not Nice

Posted in Uncategorized by echan on August 31, 2009

One last unexpected day in Singapore (Thank you, Typhoon Krovanh!), but I’ll keep this post short with some random musings.

1.  If New York : San Francisco = Hong Kong : Singapore, and I prefer Hong Kong to Singapore by a huge margin, what does this mean?

2.  This place has an interesting “kopi” culture.  As for the local stuff, it’s brewed in a sock (take that Blue Bottle).  In terms of the American coffee chains, this place is covered in Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf outlets (my sister confirmed that it hit Singapore long before San Francisco).  I wonder how Coffee Bean bested Starbucks (which are pretty easy to find, but not prevalent).

3.   I bet that if I run a Google query with Singapore and the phrase “city of the future,” I’ll come across a Thomas Friedman column, but I couldn’t help but think that this week.  If the 21st century is the BRIC century, then Singapore may be the model, with it’s mix of the modern with the co-existing cultures Chinese, Indian, Indonesian, and Malay cultures all in one place (cultures who on their home turf represent about 2/3’s of the world’s population) and strong Anglo influences.  A place that understands China and India and speaks English seems to have a head start on the rest of us.  Either that, or I’ve listened to Friedman spout off too much.

One last serving of Chendol* calls, so that’s it for now.

*Though I love Chendol, and the food here is really different, this is the first time, when I want In n’ Out, pizza, and Gordo’s the day I get back to SF.  Everyone here describes food in two binary modes of “It’s nice,” or “It’s not nice.”  Overall, the food here is “nice,” but I’ve had “nicer.”

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Josiah said, on August 31, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    it means you like asia better than america 🙂 btw i never thought of the SF – SG comparison but come to think about it it’s a good one

  2. ToastyKen said, on September 1, 2009 at 3:17 am

    SF is nowhere near the size of Singapore, though. It’s a small town in comparison.

    As for city of the future, that it totally seems to be. It’s practically the very model of an authoritarian technological utopia, the kind you always see in science fiction. Reminds me of Bregna in Aeon Flux, which I’ve been watching lately.

    -ToastyKen


Leave a Reply

