Info Gluttony

My Mom is Not a Fob

Posted in family, personal by echan on August 19, 2009

This blog has been all gloom and doom, race, and politics lately, so, for once, here’s something a little more personal.

I had the following email exchange with my dear mother today, and this is why I love her:

Mom: Hey: the coffee house on [address redacted] is for sale.  You could practice law in the back of the store.

Me: the one thing i learned from growing up over [name of mom-n-pop cafe redacted] is that a coffee shop is a lot of hard work, and doesn’t really bring in cash.

Mom: but you can network and bring in clients or better yet perform a comedy act.

**

What I like about this exchange is that my mom basically wants me to turn my life into the TV show, “Ed,” except with a cafe, instead of a bowling alley (i.e. run a local business in the neighborhood where I grew up, and break out of the grind). I love this about my mom, but it still doesn’t change the fact that I’m too conservative, when it comes to my decisionmaking.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A N N A said, on August 20, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I love this about your Mom, too! So cute. 🙂

  2. ToastyKen said, on August 24, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    If you WERE to run a business, what kind of business would it be?


Leave a Reply

