Info Gluttony

Mental Kindling

Posted in Uncategorized by echan on March 11, 2009

I’m of that age where I remember my first Sony Discman.  I was in middle school when I received one, and I remember that the first CD that I purchased was Mozart (the only vague recollection that I have of the case is that it was blue).

The comment section of my last post has a short Kindle 2 discussion, which forces me to ask:

What was the first thing you downloaded on your Kindle (2)?

So far, I have Michael Lewis’s Moneyball (I lost physical copies of this book twice) and the collected works of D.H. Lawrence.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robin said, on March 11, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I made my first selection self-consciously, knowing it was My First Kindle Download.

    So I got some poetry: “Time and Materials” by Berkeley resident Robert Hass.

    (Then I bought “The Forever War” by Dexter Filkins.)

    P.S. My first CD was a compilation called “Heavy Classix” — no joke — a collection of all the, like, most “rock and roll” classical music cliches. Ride of the Valkyries, etc.

  2. ToastyKen said, on March 11, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Dude, I still remember my first Aiwa portable cassette player! And I still USED my Aiwa portable CD player until September of last year!

    I never purchased any tapes though I don’t think. The first CDs I purchased were: http://www.amazon.com/Star-Wars-Trilogy-Soundtrack-Anthology/dp/B000002VI7 🙂

  3. ToastyKen said, on March 11, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Robin, your first CD sounds hilarious. 😀

  4. ToastyKen said, on March 11, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Though I never bought any tapes, the tapes I listened to the most while I was growing up were of a tall guy/fat guy Shanghainese standup comedy duo. 🙂 They did their comedy in the Shanghainese language, an in fact I don’t even know how to pronounce their names in Mandarin. 😛

  5. Y. said, on March 22, 2009 at 1:45 am

    I am almost too embarrassed to blog about the first thing I downloaded – the seventh book in one of my favorite fantasy series. I’m glad it’s not clogging up my bookshelf as it was not particularly good.

    I’m realizing the downside to the Kindle is that I don’t want to download anything I think Tim might want to read since you can’t really share books.


Leave a Reply

