Info Gluttony

Stewart Parnell is Lucky He Doesn’t Live in China

Posted in fud by echan on February 11, 2009

Parnell, the owner of the Peanut Corporation of America, testified before Congress today.  Of course, like Dave Chapelle, Parnell invoked the Fifth Amendement repeatly, and most noticeably in these excerpts from the article:

“Did you or any officials ever place food products into inner state commerce you knew to be contaminated with salmonella?” asked Rep. Bart Stupak, chairman of the House Energy and Commerce subcommittee.

“Mr. Chairman and members of the committee, on advice of my counsel, I respectively decline to answer your questions based on the protections afforded me under the U.S. Constitution,” said Parnell.

Moments later, as Parnell sat stiffly, his hands folded in his lap at the witness table, Rep. Greg Walden, R-Ore., held up a clear jar of his company’s products wrapped in crime scene tape and asked him if he would be willing to eat the food.

Again, Parnell invoked the Fifth Amendment.

I don’t believe in the death penalty, so I don’t think that Parnell’s conduct warrants the Chinese solution to food contamination scandals. I really, hope, however, that he goes to prison for a long long long time.

**

While we are on the topic of food, I guiltily eat sushi with the firm belief that due to overfishing, my grandchildren will either: (1) only have the opportunity to eat it on rare occasions; or (2) never be able to eat it at all.  I’m not sure if it will be any good, but I’m excited to see Casson Trenor’s Sustainable Sushi (link to Monday 2/16 book signing in SF) because it gives me hope that perhaps I am wrong.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Simon said, on February 18, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    As soon as I found out this guy is from Lynchburg, VA, I knew he was trouble.


Leave a Reply

