Info Gluttony

Good times, Good times

Posted in It's the Economy, Uncategorized by echan on February 5, 2009

Even though I refuse to be entirely pessimistic about the economy (part of me, wants to believe that it’s not that bad, a la NY Mag’s #DownTurnaround posts), but there are a two things in addition to the lay off news that have me a little worried:

  1. I don’t watch a lot of TV, so I see very few commercials (I have no idea what happened commercial wise at the Superbowl). I am, however, aware of two current advertising campaigns. The first is innocuous (the eTrade talking babies), and the second, Cash 4 Gold demonstrates that we are in dire straits.  A mail-in pawn shop for gold is blasting the airwaves and ripping people off. (Cash 4 Gold re-entered my consciousness this week because they tried to bribe a blogger to take down his “Cash 4 Gold is a scam” post. He didn’t cave, and blogged about the bribery.)
  2. A friend needed some company revenue info and IM’d me to see if I knew any bankers who could run some queries for her since all of her Hong Kong banking friends had been laid off.  I could think of one I-banker, but I consulted another friend with a broader finance network.  Between the three of us (1 Kellogg MBA, 1 money honey who has worked at banks or hedge funds since college, and me), we could only think of one friend who was still in banking. This is like saying, I used to know 15 lawyers, but their field went kaput.
One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ToastyKen said, on February 6, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Watch the latest 30 Rock! It features laid-off bankers! And a certain guest star!


Leave a Reply

