Info Gluttony

You’re Right, I Won’t Miss You

Posted in film by echan on January 23, 2009

I had planned to catch two more films last weekend, You Won’t Miss Me and 500 Days of Summer, but due to multiple snafus, I didn’t get to catch the latter film, so I ended my festival screenings on an extremely bad note.

You Won’t Miss Me was simply an ANNOYING film about Shelly, a certain type of self-absorbed, not-too-bright, young, Williamsburg (or Mission) hipster that you find smoking outside next to a fixed gear bike.  I will admit that I liked the presence of The Virgins in the movie and on the soundtrack, but this was not enough to make the film watchable.  Halfway into the film, I looked up the run time of the film on my iPhone, and gave a sigh of relief when it was only 81 minutes.  81 minutes was way too long for two of my friends, who joined the steady exodus of viewers who walked out of the film partway.  After the movie, they asked [SPOILER ALERT: STOP READING NOW], the three of us who stayed, “Did she [Shelly] die?” and a stranger interjected herself into our conversation with, “I wish she had.”

So, if you do one nice thing for yourself this year, follow my advice, and DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ToastyKen said, on January 24, 2009 at 11:36 am

    At least it has an appropriate title!

  2. ToastyKen said, on January 24, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    D’oh. Here I thought I was not being that clever but at least the first to point out the obvious pun, but then I realized that you already did it IN THE TITLE OF THE POST.

    FAIL.

  3. […] David Denby taught me something in his essay about Mumblecore. I now have a name for the genre of the movie that I utterly LOATHED at Sundance. I wonder if the “lower level of intensity” that Denby describes in the […]


Leave a Reply

