Info Gluttony

Feeling Sentimental about Unviable Business Models

Posted in media, personal, thinking about cities by echan on January 7, 2009

I should add a new tag to some of my posts, “The Slow Decline of Independent Bookstores.”

Sometimes I feel that this weblog exists for the sole purpose of documenting my reaction to announcements that a Bay Area bookstore is closing its doors. Bye bye A Clean Well Lighted Place (though, thankfully, they put a Books Inc. there).  Bye bye Cody’s (I vaguely remember a longer Cody’s obit on another blog, but alas, I’m having trouble locating that post). And now, in 2009, bye bye Stacey’s.

With every bookstore that closes, I lose an old (though sickly) friend.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anshuman said, on January 7, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Speaking of unviable business models… chopping and processing trees to produce, print and ship stacks of paper!

    With every book I buy I lose space for friends to stand in my tiny living room 😦

    p.s., hello!

  2. ToastyKen said, on January 7, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I learned how to program with books from Stacey’s. I bought QuickBASIC programming books there. I bought Stephen Prata’s New C Primer Plus there. (Oddly the latest editions are just called C Primer Plus again.) I bought all my Inside Macintosh books there.

    Just a couple of weeks ago I was thinking of going there to pick up a programming book, but I ended up using Amazon instead. So while I’m sad, I must admit I contribute to the problem. And I do love Amazon… *sigh*

  3. ToastyKen said, on January 7, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Ooo oo … I should mention I did spend over $40 doing the only Christmas shopping I did at Green Apple! But it was an impulse thing because it happened to be right across the street from the restaurant I went to. 😛

  4. adam said, on January 8, 2009 at 12:46 am

    I really liked stacey’s 😦


Leave a Reply

