Info Gluttony

Womyn’s Health

Posted in health is wealth by echan on December 23, 2008

This is sort of a bleg (blog begging):

Can someone please explain what’s going on with Ob-Gyn’s right now?  My current lady doctor’s office can’t accomodate my overdue annual exam until early March.  When the scheduling secretary informed me about this, she said, it’s because a lot of the Ob-Gyn’s in the City are shutting down the Gyn part of of their practices, and only accepting pregnant patients.

I’m absolutely positive the rationale behind this is economic. (My theory is health insurance reimbursement for a full pregnancy and delivery versus a one-off annual exam). But can some of you health care professionals provide a better explanation as to why this is happening?

Oh, and to put in my two cents, I do not like this trend one bit.  Another item to be added to the healthcare reform list.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chingwin said, on December 24, 2008 at 12:15 am

    I think if you tell them you have a female emergency they will squeeze you in.

  2. zygote said, on December 25, 2008 at 1:00 am

    WTF. I’m horrified. let me ask around some of my doctor friends and see if they can confirm.

  3. zygote said, on December 25, 2008 at 1:01 am

    hey, why is there a pretty picture above my comment? is that a pretty picture unique to me?

  4. eflan said, on December 27, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Zygote, unless you have a wordpress account, where you upload a little picture, wordpress assigns a pretty thumbnail to you.


Leave a Reply

