Info Gluttony

Following Up on a Couple of Loose Ends

Posted in personal, politics, thinking about cities by echan on December 3, 2008

In my preceding discussion of Gus Van Sant’s Milk, I forgot to include blast from the past moments that  I had while watching the film:

  • I didn’t realize that Milk ran against Art Agnos for State Assembly.  When Agnos was featured, I couldn’t explain why, but I had strong memories from my childhood that he was an awful awful mayor.
  • I watched a lot of KTVU and KGO news with my grandmother as a little kid (KTVU was our prime source).  I remember being frightened while watching coverage of the White Night Riots.  I later remember watching the news story of Dan White’s suicide.
  • Funny to think that my grandparents’ grocery store was on Eureka, just a few blocks away from where the events in Milk took place.  Most of their customers in the 50s and 60s were Irish.

**

With Obama’s selection of Hillary Rodham Clinton as our next Secretary of State, my fantasy of Colin Powell, Secretary of State 2.0 will not happen.  The Freakanomics blog points out why I wanted him to have a second chance.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ToastyKen said, on December 4, 2008 at 5:53 am

    I was still in China for White’s trial, and I imagine my parents just didn’t watch any English news during his suicide.

    Come to think of it, I can’t recall any news items from my childhood in China. The only thing I remember is gathering around the TV once for a brief mention on the news about a ceiling tile hole punching device that my dad designed. (That’s the sort of thing they mentioned on the news in China! 🙂 )

    The first news item I recall from the US was the Challenger Disaster.

  2. ToastyKen said, on December 4, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Also, re: Freakonomics blog post: I agree with some reviewer who said that he’d love to see a movie starring Jeffrey Wright’s version of his Felix Leiter CIA agent character from the Daniel Craig 007 movies. His character seemed like the most interesting part of Quantum of Solace, though he only had a minute or two of screen time.


Leave a Reply

