Info Gluttony

After Glow

Posted in politics by echan on November 7, 2008

Michelle Obama received a lot of unwarranted flack during the election for highlighted portion of the comment below (I’m adding the full passage in for context):

“What we have learned over this year is that hope is making a comeback. It is making a comeback. And let me tell you something — for the first time in my adult lifetime, I am really proud of my country. And not just because Barack has done well, but because I think people are hungry for change. And I have been desperate to see our country moving in that direction and just not feeling so alone in my frustration and disappointment. I’ve seen people who are hungry to be unified around some basic common issues, and it’s made me proud.”

After Tuesday night*, I can say, for the first time in my adult lifetime I am not a cynic when it comes to politics.  I don’t know how long this will last (I think that by 2012, the GOP will be able to use the Internet to organize as nimbly as the Dems this time around), but for this week, I am not a cynic.

Hope is a powerful thing.

* Here is the Zygote’s synopsis of our election night.

Leave a Reply

