Info Gluttony

It’s the Economy, Stupid

Posted in politics by echan on September 15, 2008

I hope today’s headlines are sufficient to drown out Palin’s folksy voice. Obama really needs to steal Clinton’s line from 1992 and push the economy to the forefront of the campaign.

**
About 13 months ago, I wrote this protected posting, which I’m pasting here:
Saturday, July 28, 2007
Okay, so, I lied. It’s not yet August, but I am going back on the grid. But only for a couple of moments.

Even though the time stamp will show something different, it is 4:26 a.m. in Hong Kong right now. All I can think of is Wolfe’s Bonfire of the Vanities. Tonight, while we were at a very crowded Prive, someone asked, “Why is everyone out tonight?” To which, another person answered, “It’s the last party because the market is tanking, and we may be out of our jobs soon.” I don’t want to believe this is true, so I am knocking on wood, but hedging my bets and not doing very much luxury spending.

And on that ambivalent note, to all a good night.

While we’re sorting through the fallout of what I’m calling Nauseous Sunday with Lehman and Merrill, I think it’s safe to say that the party is officially over (at least for a couple of years). The last time finance headlines registered in such a tangible way was back in the Fall of 2001, when the Bay Area bubble started to burst.

It’ll be interesting to see the vibe in NYC when I visit in October.

Note: I’m lame, and I can’t fix the formatting above to make the font consistent (the text shouldn’t be in Times New Roman). The eff’d up appearance of the formatting of this post annoys me too.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this charming man said, on September 15, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    you mean clinton in 1992?

    i am so glad that i’m not near to retirement. a colleague who is likely to retire soon breathed a heavy sigh of relief because a few months ago she moved most of her retirement money out of stocks and into money-market savings funds, to protect against a day like today.


Leave a Reply

