Info Gluttony

Mad Men Fans for Obama

Posted in Uncategorized by echan on February 4, 2008

My favorite TV show (including both new and old) of 2007 was Mad Men. There is no quibble in my mind about this. I’m not missing Grey’s Anatomy or Ugly Betty right now because of the Writer’s Strike, but I desperately want the studios and WGA to reach an agreement so that AMC can launch Mad Men’s second season on time this summer.

The Obama candidacy is forcing me to ask if Mad Men is perhaps the best vehicle for promoting Obama’s message of change. The prominence of the 1960 Nixon-Kennedy race in Mad Men’s storyline really hammers home the magnitude of what CHANGE means. If Obama is the true heir to JFK’s legacy, there can be no better commercial for him than the entire, sumptuous first season of Mad Men.

I would not be surprised if most Mad Men viewers support Barack over Hillary.

Edit: Oooh, I ran a query, and found out that Lionsgate, the production company behind Mad Men, struck an interim deal with the WGA. Yay.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lylee said, on February 5, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Except that a funny irony of the show is that the character of Don Draper in some ways is more akin to Nixon than to Kennedy…the poor boy determined to rise up from nothing versus the privileged rich boy whose dad pulls strings.

    (Not that I’m comparing weaselly Pete to JFK.)

    I’m jonesing for “Mad Men” as well…

  2. badxmaru said, on March 4, 2008 at 8:32 am

    mad men is my Christina Hendricks fix.
    that woman is cocaine for the eyes

  3. A N N A said, on August 3, 2008 at 5:36 am

    Mad Men is my favorite show. 🙂

    I’m apprehensive about this season though…I think it might just be because the skipping-forward-two-years thing is way jarring for me.

  4. eflan said, on August 4, 2008 at 9:30 am

    @ A N N A

    I love the 2 year skip. I read that Weiner’s original vision was to skip 2 years each season, bringing us to that tumultuous year of 1968 at Season 5.

    Season 2, Episode 1 was blah, but I thought tonight’s episode rocked.


Leave a Reply

