Info Gluttony

Who Cares if There’s a Writer’s Strike When One Has Jane Austen

Posted in Uncategorized by echan on January 14, 2008

I spent a lot of high school and college watching Masterpiece Theatre or the X-Files. PBS managed to merge to the two yesterday, by launching three mini-seasons, Masterpiece Classic, Masterpiece Mystery, and Masterpiece Contemporary, with a separate host for each. Of all people, Agent Scully is hosting Masterpiece Classic, which is anchored this season by weeks and weeks and weeks of The Complete Jane Austen.

I had no choice, but to watch the first installment of the series yesterday, Austen’s Persuasion. It paled in comparison to the excellent version I watched as a teenager, but I remained rapt. The thoughts that flooded my mind throughout the telecast were: (1) Why are they making Anne Elliot run around so much? I haven’t seen a character run this much since Tom Cruise starred in The Firm; and (2) I know that Anne Elliot is supposed to be a dowdy spinster, but must they always cast an unattractive actress to play her? I’m not asking for Keira Knightly, but surely, a less fiery version of Rachel Weisz would do.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. avidevi said, on January 15, 2008 at 4:33 am

    I was so excited to see that the series was on, but I was out late yesterday and couldn’t watch! Is it just every sunday, or every evening?

  2. eflan said, on January 15, 2008 at 7:19 am

    You have to check with your local PBS affiliate, but Masterpiece Theatre tends to have a Sunday night slot. Also, my local station will repeat the episode on a random night of the week, so check the listings.


Leave a Reply

