Info Gluttony

On Beauty

Posted in Uncategorized by echan on August 16, 2007

Thanks to my genes from my mother’s side, I’ve always been happy with my double eyelids. I am cognizant, however, from my father’s eyes, that there is a chance that if I have children, they may have hooded eyes. So many of my friends have had to surgery to add the double fold that I regard the procedure with the same nonchalance that I regard Lasik (although I do joke that the lid procedure is “starter plastic surgery”). That’s why I applaud Tyra’s “Don’t change your looks to satisfy the Western standard of beauty” take on this issue:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ToastyKen said, on August 16, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Lasik freaks me the hell out! Supposedly it hurts your night vision a bit, too.

  2. badxmaru said, on August 19, 2007 at 8:09 am

    i get 3 and 4 eyelids after allnighters.

    makes me look freakish.

  3. […] of insecure Asian Americans who are willing to mutilate themselves to fit Western beauty standards. Here’s my previous post on Tyra’s take on this topic. Also, it’s a completely false tagline.  It’s not […]


Leave a Reply

