Info Gluttony

Social Values Voters?

Posted in Uncategorized by echan on November 3, 2006

I am by no means using the recently disgraced Ted Haggard as an example, but the coverage of his fall, forces me to wonder: To what extent are my leftward leaning friends “social values” voters? Although Pastor Ted caved in to pressure earlier this year to not press the Bush administration on climate change, he was one of the few Evangelicals who spoke out against global warming:

The Rev. Ted Haggard, president of the National Association of Evangelicals, an umbrella group of 51 church denominations, said he had become passionate about global warming because of his experience scuba diving and observing the effects of rising ocean temperatures and pollution on coral reefs.

“The question is, Will evangelicals make a difference, and the answer is, The Senate thinks so,” Mr. Haggard said. “We do represent 30 million people, and we can mobilize them if we have to.”

His name is also bandied about with such progressive causes (and I know how general this sounds, but I wasn’t able to locate a concrete example of his projects) as fighting poverty.

This leads me to ask, if you came across a politician, who shared your position on global warming, our approach to the war on Iraq, the wealth distribution in the United States, education, taxes, and stem cell research, BUT was vehemently opposed to gay marriage and abortion, would s/he get your vote?

(And for some reason, I feel that this post was about Senatorial candidate, Harold Ford Jr.).

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hedgehog said, on November 29, 2006 at 7:57 pm

    Unfortunately, my experience has been that this is largely a hypothetical question. But I once got to vote in a city council election in Yonkers, New York. The candidate who supported the zoning and law enforcement ideals of my college was opposed to legal abortion. I was 18. I started a write-in campaign for the president of the college. She was aghast. Today, I think I’d vote for the anti-abortionist and do everything possible to keep her from reaching higher office.


Leave a Reply

