Info Gluttony

Northern Exposure

Posted in indie rock, music, sweden, Uncategorized by echan on March 28, 2006

I’m debating whether or not I should take an international trip this year, or travel domestically in the interest of conserving resources. Evil K is hitting Scandavia, starting in Iceland, then onto the continent. I am tempted to go, because I am rather infatuated with the sound of Sweden: Jens Lekman* (reminiscent of the Magnetic Fields), the Knife (a Royksopp connection), Jose Gonzales, and Suburban Kids with Biblical Names (the one with best band names that I’ve heard in a while). My indie rock compass points north.

*I’m rather entertained by the intro of this Pitchfork review of Mr. Lekman:

Jens Lekman does not have a girlfriend. This seems to be an injustice on par with the Sony rootkit fiasco and the cancellation of “Arrested Development”. Lekman is charming. He writes orchestral pop songs that swoon like silent movie damsels in distress. He rhymes “chili” with “chilly.” The Swedish singer/songwriter hasn’t been in a relationship for four years. Blaming the music business for his non-existent love life, he recently threatened to quit releasing records to become a telemarketer.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Saheli said, on March 28, 2006 at 6:42 am

    Dude, I’ve got a Swedish rocker visiting in the next cubicle over. I take print job opportunities to chill in his cube and watch him fix his guitar. Amazingly, he seems to think I have indie-rock cred—while I know nothing on your scale of things, I guess I know more than most of the people in the office. I got points for telling him about noisepop. There was a Swedish band at Slim’s the other night apparently.

    But actually, I recommend Iceland more. Don’t know how much of an outdoors enthusiast you are, but it’s awesome.

  2. @nna said, on March 28, 2006 at 4:01 pm

    ahh, take an international trip!!! i wanna go to iceland.. hehe. who am i kidding, i’m staying domestic this year!

  3. My Favorite Swede « Info Gluttony said, on April 1, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    […] I realized that I blogged about Jens once […]


Leave a Reply

