Info Gluttony

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sapitosetty said, on April 10, 2012 at 4:36 am

    Hi, I hear you! I stopped using Picasa when they put in their facial recognition software and started leaning very heavily on me to identify everyone in my photos. I continue to use Flickr and find that it is by far the least creepy. The privacy settings are very limited — just “Friends” and/or “Family” — so I miss Picasa’s ability to make an album, give me a link, and let me control exactly who sees it. But whatever, I am now just on Flickr. I like that it’s very stable, it’s been going with almost no changes for what, 95 years or something, and there’s as yet very little “social” component. This, to me, is a very good thing.

    Oh and of course, if you really want to do it right, just get your own domain. You can pretty easily set up WordPress, for example, on your own site, to publish photos sent in from whatever medium you like (such as a phone) and then you can control access in whatever way you please, including passwords and such. Most of Web 2.0 is unnecessary if you have any Web 1.0 skills.

  2. Ruchira said, on April 10, 2012 at 6:12 am

    Have you tried smugmug? I opened an account years ago and more or less forgot about it, but it’s been going on painlessly with no nonsense. E.g. http://ruchiradatta.blogspot.com/2004/07/portola-park-pics.html I think their business model is from people buying prints.

    • Ruchira said, on April 10, 2012 at 6:13 am

      Oh, and there’s an annual membership fee, but given your concerns I would guess it would be worth it.

  3. Greg said, on April 10, 2012 at 8:55 am

    What is the drawback to Facebook knowing what bands you like, or pretty much any other information about you?

  4. echan said, on April 10, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    @setty and @ruchira – I think that my dilemma here is what if I want to be a “little social,” but not too social? The other problem with FB, asides from my privacy concerns, is that I’ve hit the age where a lot of my friends post either baby or materialistic gloating photos. The friends that I chose to follow on Instagram were much narrower, as to filter out this type of boring, annoying stuff from my feed. Flickr and Smugmug are good options for storage, but not so much for the minor sharing that I want to do within a limited network. I feel like Goldilocks; I want the right amount of sharing capability.

    @Greg – I think that one of the biggest drawbacks about Facebook knowing this info is that once Facebook knows it, it can’t unknow it. This data lives on the Facebook servers forever, and there’s nothing that you can do about it.

    Second, Facebook has an “act first, fix later,” approach to privacy. A few years ago, Facebook wanted to serve ads with your profile picture to friends of stuff you like. Or the way now that Facebook tried to share links you clicked on with your friends automatically. Or the whole Facebook Beacon kerfuffle. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Facebook_Beacon EPIC has an entire page devoted to Facebook’s bad history with user privacy. http://epic.org/privacy/facebook/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

